Steering committee

The Riap Steering committee was appointed by the Iss President, Prof. Enrico Garaci (letter dated 28 May 2008, and subsequent updates). It is responsible for the work and progress of the Riap.

Currently, members of the Steering committee are:

Representing the Italian national institute of health (Iss)

  • Dr. Eng. Marina Torre – Project Leader, President of the Steering committee
  • Dr. Virgilia Toccacelli – Privacy and data protection expert
  • Dr. Eugenio Carrani – Informatics expert

Representing the Ministry of health 

  • Dr.  Antonella Colliardo, Dr. Elisabetta Stella (as a substitute) – DG for medical devices and pharmaceutical services (Dgdmf)
  • Dr. Lucia Lispi, Dr. Antonella Campanale (as a substitute) – DG for medical devices and pharmaceutical services (Dgdmf)
  • Dr. Eng. Mauro Asaro – Technical Committee on Health, Session f, MD, Dr. Eng. Sara Zanchiello (as a substitute)

Representing the regions 

  • Dr. Olivia Leoni, Eng. Francesco Cideni (as a substitute) – Lombardy Region
  • Dr. Silvia Vigna, Dr. Rita Mottola (as a substitute) – Veneto Region
  • Dr. Carla Melani, Dr. Roberto Picus (as a substitute) – Autonomous Province of Bozen
  • Dr. Eng. Cristiana Armaroli, Dr. Marco Molinari (as a substitute) – Autonomous Province of Trento
  • Prof. Araldo Causero, Dr. Renato Gisonni (as a substitute) – Autonomous Region of Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Dr. Andrea Fabrizio Gemmi, Dr. Marco Romanelli  (as a substitute) – Tuscany Region
  • Dr. Sebastiano Grasso, substitute pending appointment – Marche Region
  • Prof. Vittorio Calvisi, Prof. Giandomenico Logroscino (as a substitute) – Abruzzi Region
  • Dr. Pancrazio La Floresta, Dr. Enzo Bianchi (as a substitute) – Molise Region
  • Dr. Stefano Lepore, Dr. Giovanni Colacicco (as a substitute) – Campania Region
  • Dr. Rocco Romeo, Dr. Sandro Sangiovanni (as a substitute) – Basilicata Region
  • Prof. Cinzia Annatea Germinario, Prof. Giuseppe Solarino (as a substitute) – Apulia Region
  • Prof. Giorgio Gasparini, Dr. Giuseppe Andrea De Biase (as a substitute) – Calabria Region
  • Dr. Filippo Boniforti, Dr. Letterio Ciriaco (as a substitute) – Sicily Region

Representing the Italian society of orthopaedics and traumatology (Siot) 

  • Prof. Paolo Tranquilli Leali – Expert on the subject of registries and Ebm
  • Dr. Emilio Romanini – Expert on the subject of registries and Ebm
  • Dr. Gustavo Zanoli – Expert on the subject of registries and Ebm
  • Dr. Umberto Alfieri Montrasio – Foot and ankle surgery expert

Representing the Italian society of hospital pharmacy (Sifo)

  • Dr. Domenica Mamone, Dr. Caterina Mangano (as a substitute)

Representing the Italian orthopaedics and traumatology residents association (Aisot)

  • Dr. Gianluca Ciolli, Dr. Manuel Giovanni Mazzoleni (as a substitute)

Representing manufacturers 

  • Dr. Fernanda Gellona, Dr. Giulia Magri (as a substitute) – Confindustria DM

Representing patients

  • Mrs. Antonella Celano, Dr. Andrea Tomasini  (as a substitute) – Associazione Nazionale Persone con Malattie Reumatologiche e Rare (APMARR APS ETS)


  • Dr. Stefania Ceccarelli –  Iss
  • Mrs.  Mascia Masciocchi – Iss

The following also contribute to the work of the Committee:

  • Alessandro Aprato, Lucia Favella, Silvia Ferro (Piedmont)
  • Dominga Cardascia (Marche)
  • Michele Ercolanoni (Lombardy)
  • Arianna Mazzone (Lombardy)
  • Stefano Tornago (Fondazione Spotorno, Pietra Ligure, SV)
  • Alessandra Villano (Friuli Venezia Giulia)
  • Valentina Corbo (Società Italiana della Caviglia e del Piede)

Riap Steering committee update: 12/07/2023